About Me

tahoe1 (640x640)

I always find this page amusing. I hate writing “about me” pages but yet, it is one of the first pages I check out when I go to any website.

So what do I say? I was born and raised in New Jersey. I am a Jersey girl at heart with my loyalties on the east coast however my life exists 3,000 miles away. I do go back and visit every chance that I get as I still have family there.

California is not so bad. Who doesn’t love Lake Tahoe? That is our family special place and where I wish I could spend most of my days.

Best new photo!

I am in my 40s and I have two little girls (Peanut, age 8 and Squeaker, age 5). Vans is my husband and he is a born and raised Californian. Some people call me a hippy and some call me healthy. I would say I am a mix of both (depending on the day).

photoI have been a vegan since I was 16 years old. I dabbled in dairy for a bit but it doesn’t sit well with me and really, no human should really be consuming the stuff. Hence the vegan lifestyle although I prefer Plant-Based if you are going to use “titles” here. I also have Celiac Disease and must live a gluten free life which is not always easy when you are also a vegan.

I am on the constant quest to find the newest recipe to try out on my family yet I never create my own from scratch. I love to cook, I am a terrible baker and I love a good Sangiovese.

I love fitness and all things active. I played varsity soccer, softball and basketball (starting each sport at a very young age). I’ve completed a half ironman, I have coached beginners to their first half marathon and their first sprint distance triathlon. Trails are my love but I have run fourteen marathons, eight¬†50ks, three 50 Milers and one 100k. I love anything Western States related which includes running in their organized training runs or volunteering. However, a life with two kids, a full time job, a long commute and that thing called sleep leaves little time for running most days which is why I wake up at 4:30 am and meet a bunch of crazy friends who will run with me. My¬†usual running suspects partners are Stonegate, BurningGirl and Pigeon.

If I could do life over again, I would probably pursue a career in the fitness and nutrition field although I’ll never regret my four years at Quinnipiac majoring in communications which lead me to my five wonderful years with PBS. These days, I have more of a “corporate” job. It is not something I love, but I work with great people doing great things. Maybe some day, I will figure out that “thing” that I am good at and try and make a career out of it.

I’d say that was a pretty random “about me” page huh? Above all else, www.trailmomma.com is about family, fitness and anything that makes us laugh.

photo 3 (2)JC2

 

Share This:

Trail Running + Mommyhood = the best adventures